

## RESOLUTION IN COMMEMORATION 50<sup>TH</sup> ANNIVERSARY OF THE ADIRONDACK PARK LAND USE AND DEVELOPMENT PLAN

Whereas: On May 22, 1973, Governor Nelson Rockefeller signed the Adirondack Park Land Use and Development Plan into law. In accord with the APA Act (1971) and the Adirondack Park State Land Master Plan (1972) this solidified a long-term state commitment towards the preservation of the public lands and to the sustainable development of the private lands of the Adirondack Park; and

Whereas: The plan intends to balance the complementary desires of all the people of the State for the preservation of the Park's unique resources and open space character with the needs of the Park's residents and visitors for vibrant communities with wideranging economic opportunities; and

Whereas: After fifty years, the Adirondack Park is considered by many a global model for regional environmental land use planning. The land use classification system and its supporting permit system have protected substantial acreages of ecologically significant lands, intact working forests, and prime farmlands; and

Whereas: The Adirondack economy directly benefits from a robust outdoor recreational tourism sector, natural resource-based industries and entrepreneurial businesses which are drawn to the park due to its natural beauty, its well-planned small communities with distinct character, and the sound adherence to smart growth principals; and

Whereas: The Adirondack Park Agency recognizes there are impacts from the density limitations and other elements of the plan which can exacerbate challenges facing rural communities. To this end, the agency will continue to work with local government and all partners to advance solutions that solve the critical need for affordable housing, public infrastructure, access to broadband, and increased diversity.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board Members and Staff of the Adirondack Park Agency will commemorate throughout 2023 the fiftieth anniversary of the Adirondack Park Land Use and Development Plan. We deeply respect the efforts of those before us and pledge to bring the same resolve for sound land use policy to the next half century.

Members: Chair John Ernst, Arthur Lussi, Daniel Wilt, Zoë Smith, Benita Law-Diao, Mark Hall, Kenneth Lynch, Bradley Austin, Kisha Santiago-Martinez, and Joseph Zalewski.