

SHERMAN CRAIG Chairman TERRY MARTINO Executive Director

DRAFT MINUTES
Park Ecology Committee
July 13,2017
ESS:ap

MINUTES OF THE PARK ECOLOGY COMMITTEE MEETING July 13, 2017

The Committee meeting convened at approximately 1:16 p.m.

Park Ecology Committee Members Present:

John Ernst, Chair, Dan Wilt, Bradley Austin, (ESD), Robert Stegemann (DEC), Art Lussi

Other Members and Designees Present:

Sherman Craig, Chairman, Dr. Chad Dawson, Lynn Mahoney (DOS), Barbara Rice, William Thomas

Local Government Review Board:

Fred Monroe, Executive Director

Agency Staff Present:

Terry Martino, James Townsend, Leigh Walrath, Alicia Purzycki, Keith McKeever, Kathy Regan, Walt Linck, Mary O'Dell, Annemarie Peer

On a motion made by Dan Wilt, seconded by Art Lussi the June draft minutes were unanimously approved.

RASS Program Report (Ed Snizek)

Ed Snizek gave a brief report on the awards that were presented for the Invasive Species Rapid Response and Control Grant Program. \$1.7 million in grants were awarded from the Environmental Protection Fund. He went over some of the North Country recipients' and the amounts awarded, which included \$100,000 to the Upper Saranac Lake Foundation to manage Eurasian watermilfoil in Fish Creek Pond.

Mr. Snizek introduced Leigh Walrath who gave a brief update on the New York's 4th annual invasive species awareness week which began July 9 and goes through July 15, 2017. He also thanked the Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) for the signs they loaned the Agency for the outside of the building to raise AIS awareness during the week.

<u>Adirondack Watershed Institute Stewardship Program Update</u> (Dr. Eric Holmlund, Director of Paul Smith's College Watershed Stewardship Program)

Dr. Holmlund credited the success of the Adirondack Watershed Institute Stewardship Program (AWIS) to the partnerships they have with DEC, USEPA, Lake Champlain Basin Program, Department of Transportation, The Fund for Lake George, Adirondack Park Agency and many others; along with the people who are on the Adirondack Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention Program (AAISPP) Advisory Committee.

Dr. Holmlund displayed a chart, showing the growth that the program has seen between 2000-2016, with increases in the number of lakes with stewards, number of employees and the number of boat decontaminations. Dr. Holmlund also went over some of the funding that the Program received in 2016, including funding from New York State, Federal grants and assistance from lake associations.

He provided a summary of the 2016 AWIS season which included: 58,848 boats inspected, 1,743 AIS found, 126,011 visitors greeted and educated, 56 lakes covered by 118 stewards,15 decontamination sites and 1,065 boats decontaminated. He noted that on average about 10% of the watercraft inspected had aquatic organisms attached with approximately 2.5% confirmed to be AIS.

He then went over charts showing the results of the decontamination stations for 2016 season including total number of decons and organisms removed. He also discussed AIS spread vectors and pathway analysis, which includes tracking what lakes watercraft had previously visited. Data collected indicates that 75% of the boats encountered are considered low risk for transporting AIS.

Dr. Holmlund gave us an overview of the numbers that the program has seen thus far in the 2017 season. There are 61 total locations which includes 16 decon stations and 45 steward only sites, involving 116 staff. He also provided a review of the 2017 budget and various funding sources that contribute to the 2.4 million dollar budget.

Dr. Holmlund concluded his presentation by going over what is new with the AWIS Program, including new decon stations being established, including the decon station under development at the Glens Falls rest area, new uniforms and logo for AWI staff, and media outreach which includes radio spots, website upgrades, and an invasive species billboard on interstate 87.

After a brief answer and question period, Dr. Holmlund was presented a certificate of appreciation by John Ernst, Ms. Martino, Chairman Craig, Leigh Walrath, and Mr. Snizek.

Old Business

None

New Business

None

The meeting was adjourned at approximately 2:15 p.m.